Headphone Reflections

Occasional reflections on headphones, amplifiers, IEMs, DACs, and related gear.

, ,

On the Gladius from Arctic Cables

Audio cables are often the discussion of much heated debate within the audio world. People tend to regard cable rolling as either a dubious practice carried out by gullible “audiofools,” or otherwise a method of fine tweaking audio performance while also improving ergonomics and comfort. This is without even mentioning so-called burn-in. Whatever your perspective, cable rolling is a thriving business and certainly not going anywhere. I myself tend to be in favour of cable rolling primarily for ergonomic and aesthetic reasons, but also believe that certain cable configurations can improve the performance of a headphone, though often in subtle ways.

To this end, I have recently received the new Gladius cable from Arctic Cables. This is not my first encounter with Arctic Cables, having previously had a positive experience of several of their lines from the modest to the higher-tier. The Gladius belongs to the latter category. It is their new 8 wire 17AWG silver and copper hybrid cable with a 4-wire silver/copper hybrid Litz + 4-wire copper Litz configuration. You can read more about the specs here.

I bought this cable specifically to use with Kennerton Thror and Kennerton Rognir, both of which use the same mini-XLR plugs. I should say at the outset that the default tuning of both headphones does not need modifying, at least to my ears. In addition, the stock cable that comes with these headphones is already excellent in terms of synergy (though ergonomically less than ideal). All of which is to say that my aim with the Gladius is to enhance what is already there with the Thror and Rognir without modifying the tuning or timbre. For these impressions, I drove the Thror and Rognir from either Hugo 2 or Qutest via Bakoon’s HPA-21 and HDA-5210MK4.

Let me begin here by describing the build and aesthetics. The particular cable I ordered terminates in Furutech FT-610mF mini-XLR plugs at the headphone side and an AECO AT6-1231R plug at the termination side. I am a recent convert to AECO and the build of these plugs is outstanding (rivalling if not surpassing Furutech rhodium, in my estimation).

In the hand, you can feel that a great deal of attention has been given to both ergonomics and the structure of the cable. It also feels remarkably durable. From the fine braiding to the use of the wooden (Zebrano in this case) splitter, the cable exudes the impression of fine craftmanship and care. Indeed, the hexagon splitter is a beautiful touch, which both matches aesthetically with Kennerton’s headphones while also functioning exceptionally well.

Ergonomically, the cable is a marvel. Although thick and designed for desktop use, it is both malleable and free of any microphonics. Using it is a sheer pleasure. There is a substantial feel to the Gladius without it feeling weighed down or cumbersome. Let me add that aesthetically, the cable is simply a work of art, which photos alone cannot do justice to. I find myself simply admiring the pairing of the Gladius and the Thror on a daily basis without even using the headphones.

Moving on to sound, I ran the Gladius for about a week before writing my impressions. To my ears, the Gladius retains the basic tonality of each headphone while elevating the presentation in a number of ways, not least bass extension, soundstage, and layering. The other two cables I have to compare the Gladius are the Plussound X8 cable in silver-plated copper and the stock Kennerton cable, which I believe is the CLC-04 model. For this impression, I used the track “Where Dry Desert Ends” by Food, which offers excellent sub-bass, dynamics, micro-detail, layering, and soundstage. Here’s what I hear:

For the next impressions on the Rognir, I switched genre from jazz-fusion to progressive death metal in the form of Opeth’s “Grand Conjuration.” This track offers excellent micro details, dynamics, and technicalities.

As if it wasn’t clear, the Gladius cable is an outstanding cable worth of its “grand series” status. Overall, it offers a natural presentation, with outstanding technicalities yet zero fatigue. It brings to these headphones more extension, greater depth, and more nuance. Added to that, it’s a beautiful cable, durably built, and exquisite to the touch. In all likelihood, I will buy another pair so that both of my Kennerton headphones can benefit from the Gladius. As ever, Val and his team are a joy to work with.

Top recommendation in every respect!

Leave a comment


Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started